Sunday, July 23, 2017
Text Size

Site Search powered by Ajax

image image image image
MCT Board meets and endorses audited financial report The Governing Board of the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) met on July 18, 2017 and among other things it has endorsed and adopted the Council’s financial report for the year ending December 31, 2016.
2016 memorable year for MCT The year 2016 was a very challenging for the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) in the implementation of its programmes, the Council annual report for the year states.  
CORI pledges support to Mawio The Coalition for the Right to Information (CORI) has decided to render support to Mawio newspaper which has been banned for two years by the government.
MCT mediates LHRC and Uhuru newspaper   The Media council of Tanzania (MCT) has successfully settled a complaint raised by the Legal and Human Rights Centre (HRLC) against Uhuru newspaper.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Resource Centre


Press Clippings

Press Release

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4


Media Council of Tanzania Website

kajubinomineeejat2012Sixty six media practitioners have been nominated for the Excellency in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) for the year 2012.The chairperson of the organising committee of EJAT, Kajubi Mukajanga, announced the names of the nominees at a press conference held at the offices of the Media Council of Tanzania on March 15, 2012.

Mukajanga said the nominees were picked by a panel of nine judges led by the editor of Channel Ten TV, Bernadina Chahali and winners  will be  awarded trophies, prizes and certificates in recognition for excellence performance during the EJAT gala night on April 5, 2013. There were 946 entries vying for the 2012 EJAT awards.

The Zanzibar President Dr. Alli Mohamed Shein will be the official guest of honour.

During the gala night apart from awarding the winners, media practitioners  who have participated in EJAT and were nominated for two,  three  and four times will also be  recognized.

The list of the nominees shows that  Mwananchi  and Citizen newspapers both published by  Mwananchi Comminucations Limited  have a total of  14 nominees,  while Kilimanjaro Film Institute has seven and  Afya  Radio of Mwanza  has  six nominees.

Nipashe newspaper and TBC Taifa  each have four nominees while TBC 1  and  the Guardian have three nominees each.

Uhuru FM, ABM FM, Clouds,  Tripple A FM Channel Ten,  Star TV, Zanzibar Leo, Iringa Municipal TV,  Sauti ya Injili, BBC, Majira and Uhuru newspapers each have one nominee.

The full list of nominees and their media outlets is a follows:Faraja Sendegeya -Afya Redio, Mwanza; Samweli Mwamkinga -The Citizen ,Dar es Salaam ; Popa Matumula –Mzalendo, Dar es Salaam;Abdul Kingo- Nipashe, Dar es Salaam;Joseph Senga -Tanzania Daima -Dar es Salaam;Emmanuel Ndege-Uhuru, Dar es Salaam;Imma Mbuguni-Majira-Dar es Salaam;Dotto Mnyadi-TBC 1, Dar es Salaam; and Florence Majani- Mwananchi,Dar es Salaam

Others are Gervas Hubile-TBC Taifa,Dar es Salaam; Noel Thompson -Afya Redio, Mwanza;Polycarp Machira-The Citizen, Dar es Salaam;Tom Mosoba - The Citizen, Dar es Salaam;Elias Msuya –Mwananchi,Dar es Salaam;Leon Bahati  Mwananchi - Dar es Salaam; Lucas Liganga, The CitizenDar es Salaam; Anthony Masai-Tripple A. FM , Arusha;Idd Juma Yusuph-Afya Redio, Mwanza; Cassius Mdami-Channel Ten, Dar es Salaam;Anwary Msechu Kilimanjaro Film Institute, Arusha; Alex Magwiza- TBC – Taifa, Dar es Salaam and Andrew Kiwanyi-Kilimanjaro Film Institute, Arusha.

Others are  Ramadhan Mhina -Kilimanjaro Film Institute,Arusha;Robert Mwampembwa-Star TV, Dar es Salaam;Hawa Bihoga-Afya Redio, Mwanza;Rolf Kibaja-TBC 1,Dar es Salaam;Shija Felician Mwananchi,Kahama – Shinyanga;Fredy Azzah-Mwananchi,Dar es Salaam;Joseph Zablon-Mwananchi,Dar es Salaam;Lusekelo Philemon-The Guardian, Arusha;Victoria Patrick Mgwediagi-TBC 1,Dodoma;Rose Pallangyo-Kilimanjaro Film Institute,Arusha;Latifu Matimbwa-TBC Taifa   , Dar es Salaam;Zephania Ubwani -The Citizen, Arusha;Dickson Ng’hily-The Guardian, Dar es Salaam and Ashton Balaigwa-Nipashe, Morogoro.

Others are Salome Kitomari - Nipashe ,Kilimanjaro;Goodluck Mushi-Kilimanjaro Film Institute,  Arusha, Bernard Mwaituka -Iringa Municipal Television, Iringa;Richard Makore- Nipashe,Dar es Salaam;Tumaini Msowoya – Mwananchi, Iringa;Husna K. Mohammed - Zanzibar Leo , Zanzibar;Daniel Kaminyoge- Kilimanjaro Film Institute, Arusha;Sofia Malaki -Mlimani TV, Dar es Salaam;Abisae Maeda-Kilimanjaro Film Institute, Arusha;Mwamini Andrew-TBC – Taifa,Dar es Salaam; Sempanga Zawadi Mchome -,Redio Sauti ya Injili Moshi, Kilimanjaro; Noel Mwakalindile-BBC,Dar es Salaam and Beatrice Shayo-The Guardian,Dar es Salaam.

Others are Frank Leonard, Habari Leo, Iringa; Gervas Hubile, TBC Taifa, Dar es Salaam;Harith J. Ally-Afya Redio,Mwanza;Tuma Dandi -Mlimani Redio, Dar es Salaam;Abdul Abdallah Mohammed-The African, Dar es Salaam;Editha Carlo-Mtanzania, Kigoma; Paul Sigori-Uhuru FM,Dar es Salaam; Abdallah Majura- ABM FM,Dodoma;Deus Buganywa-Raia Mwema, Dar es Salaam;Shadrack Sagati      -HabariLeoDar es Salaam;Jamal Hashim Said -TBC 1,Dar es Salaam;Anthony Mayunga-Mwananchi,Mugumu – Mara;John Lewanga-TBC 1,Dar es Salaam;Said Salim Njuki, Afya Redio,Arusha;Abel Onesmo-Clouds, Mwanza and Edward Qorro- The Citizen , Dar es Salaam.

Out of this list seven - Daniel Kaminyoge, Faraja Sendegeya, Lucas Liganga, Gervas Hubile, Florence Majani, Fredy Azzah and Idd Juma Yusuph -have been selected to vie for the slot of overall EJAT winner.



Add comment

Security code

Media Headlines

MCT Videos
videoMore Videos...

Photo Gallery
photoMore Photos...

Journalism Awards


Visitors Counter

All days


  • No feeds found!