Saturday, May 27, 2017
Text Size

Site Search powered by Ajax

image image image image
MCT Ethics Committee visits Clouds Media   Members of the Ethics committee of the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) visited Clouds Media Group on May 25, 2017.
Media stakeholders appeal to Z’bar govt to accommodate their proposals Media stakeholders in Zanzibar have appealed to the Isles’ Ministry of Information, Arts and Sports to accommodate their proposals in the process of preparing a new media legislation which would not be oppressive for future generations.
MCT warns media on use of bad taste Photographs and sensationalism Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) has expressed deep concern and regret on the use of bad taste photographs and sensationalism by some sections of the media when covering the Karatu incident whereby 33 pupils of Lucky Vincent Nursery and Primary school, their two teachers and the driver of the bus they were travelling in lost their lives when the bus plunged into a ravine on May 6, 2017.
Z’bar to issue press cards to scribes from Mainland Journalists from the Mainland working in the Isles will now be provided with press cards in Zanzibar


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Resource Centre


Press Clippings

Press Release

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4


Media Council of Tanzania Website


Competition for the sixth edition of the Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) 2014 is now open.

Entries are invited from journalists across the country and speaking on behalf of the EJAT chairperson Kajubi Mukajanga, the Regulation and Standards Manager of the Media Council of Tanzania, Pili Mtambalike announced two more categories have been introduced in the competition.

Addressing a news conference on October 21, 2014 at the headquarters of the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) in Dar es Salaam, Mtambalike named the two categories as extractive industries – gas, oil and minerals and the second is Maternal and New born health.

The Best camera person award for TV in addition for Best photographer in print has also been introduced.

Those who submit entries for the awards from TV are also required to mention the name of the camera person who participated in filming the entry.

Since 2009 when EJAT started journalists have been awarded trophies, certificates and different prizes for outstanding performance.

The overall winner in addition to the trophies, certificate and   prizes also bags USD 4,000 as sponsorship provided by MCT to pursue further studies.

For EJAT 2014, Journalists are required to submit their work published or broadcast between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014.

The deadline for submitting entries is February 16, 2015 and the gala night where winners will be awarded is April 24, 2015.

Responding to questions raised during the news conference, Mtambalike said the EJAT organizing committee welcomes views and ideas on various issues on the competition including prizes offered to winners.



Apart from trophies and certificates EJAT winners have been given various presents including laptops, ipads, cameras and Television sets. Mtambalike said at one point a suggestion was floated to provide cash prizes as well.

Representatives from EJAT partners – Raziah Mawanga from Tanzania Media Fund, Fauziat Aboud from PSI and Chiku Lweno from Mama Ye made passionate appeals to journalists to participate in the competition.

MCT is the leading partner of EJAT organizing Committee. Other partners in the EJAT organizing committee are the Media Institute of Southern Africa – Tanzania chapter (MISA-Tan), Tanzania Media Women Association (TAMWA), Evidence for Action the Association of Journalists Against AIDS (AAJAT), Journalists Association on Environment (JET), Tanzania Editors Forum (TEF), Association of Science Journalists (TASJA), Tanzania Chamber of Minerals and Energy (TCME), Agriculture Non-State Actors Forum (ANSAF) and Media Owners Association (MOAT).

Others are Tanzania Communications Authority (TCRA); Haki Elimu; Sikika; AMREF; Besst AC and Tanzania sports Writers Association (TASWA).

The categories that journalists compete for awards are: Economic and Business Reporting; Sports and Culture Reporting: Environment Reporting: Health Reporting: HIV/AIDs Reporting: Gender Reporting: Good Governance; Gender,; Science and Technology; Maternal and Newborn; investigative Reporting; Tourism and Conservation Reporting; Reporting people with disabilities, Best photographer – Print; Best Camera person - Television; Best Cartoonist; Agriculture and Agribusiness reporting; Sexual and Reproductive Health for Young people; Extractive Industries Reporting and Open category.

Alongside EJAT 2014, the fourth Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Awards (LAJA) will also be considered.

Candidates for this awards are those with impressive track record of excellence in journalism as well as those who have shown strong support and commitment for excellence in journalism and press freedom.


Add comment

Security code

Media Headlines

MCT Videos
videoMore Videos...

Photo Gallery
photoMore Photos...

Journalism Awards


Visitors Counter

All days


  • No feeds found!