Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Text Size

Site Search powered by Ajax

image image image image
MCT expresses sympathy to Mawio editor The Executive Secretary of Media Council of Tanzanian expressed sympathy to the managing editor of Mawio, Simon Mkina, following the government decision to ban his newspaper for two years.
TEF joins fray criticising Govt for banning Mawio Tanzania Editors Forum has joined the fray in protesting the government’s decision to ban Mawio newspaper for two years.
Government urged to rescind ban on Mawio The government has been urged to rescind the two-year ban it has imposed on Mawio newspaper as the order contravenes the country’s constitution and the Media Services Act of 2016 which basically does not empower the minister for information to mete out such punishment.
IMS representatives meet MCT officials Representatives of the International Media Support (IMS) held talks with officials of the Media Council on June 16, 2017.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Resource Centre


Press Clippings

Press Release

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4


Media Council of Tanzania Website


Nape Nnauye the youthful Publicity Secretary of the ruling party CCM is the new Minister for Information.

He was named in the new cabinet announced by President John Pombe Magufuli on 10 December, 2015.

Reacting to Nnauye’s appointment, the Executive Secretary of the Media Council of Tanzania, Kajubi Mukajanga, congratulated him and expressed the Council’s readiness to work with him.

He also expressed optimism that the new minister will expedite the process of enacting new media legislations that have been pending for almost a decade.

The new legislations – Access to Information was held back at Parliamentary Committee level last year in order to accommodate views from members of the public while proposals on the Media Services bill did not even reach that level.

“We bank so much on his youthful zeal to reinvigorate the process so that the new laws will be enacted within the first year of his tenure”, Mukajanga said.

Add comment

Security code

Media Headlines

MCT Videos
videoMore Videos...

Photo Gallery
photoMore Photos...

Journalism Awards


Visitors Counter

All days


  • No feeds found!