Thursday, October 19, 2017
Text Size
image image image image
CoRI presents requested proposals on On-Line and Broadcast Content regulations The government recently had requested on short notice media stakeholder to provide it their views and inputs on the amendment on the Draft Regulations of the Electronic and Postal Communication Online and Broadcast.
Mukajanga launches EJAT 2017 The ninth edition of the Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) 2017 has been formally launched.
CoRI responds to government request on on-line content regulations The Coalition on Right to Information (CoRI) met on October 3, 2017 and discussed a number of issues on developments obtaining on the media landscape in the country.
Proposed Regulations on On-line Content are damned restrictive - Twaweza Twaweza has worked out scenarios which would be illegal with The Electronic and Postal Communication (Online Content) Regulations, 2017  


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Resource Centre


Press Clippings

Media Council of Tanzania Website


Nine of the ten members of the Panel of Judges of the Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) 2015 were sworn-in by the President of the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) retired Judge, Thomas Mihayo on March 11, 2016.

The chairperson or lead judge of the panel Ms. Valerie Msoka will be sworn-in on a later date as she was expected back in the country later on the very day the other judges were sworn-in.  

The judges who took the oath before Justice Mihayo were, Dr. Joyce Bazira, Godfrey Nago, Kiondo Mshana, Juma Dihule, Pili Mtambalike, Ali Uki, Jesse Kwayu, Ndimara Tegambwage and Nathan Mpangala.

Dr. Bazira, who has practiced journalism for 15 years rising from reporting to editorship, is now in academics – lecturing at the St Augustine University. Godfrey Nago is a programmes producer at TBC. He started his career at ITV and later moved to TVT now turned TBC. Nago has also won EJAT trophy.

Mshana rose from lecturing journalism at the former Tanzania School of Journalism (TSJ), served time as journalist and editor at the Guardian Limited before becoming the Managing Director of the Company where he served until he retired. He runs his own journalism training school, publishes a newspaper –Wajibika and on-line TV and Radio.


Juma Dihule is a professional photo- journalist with vast experience with a stint in the war with Uganda in the 70s. He rose to the position of Chief Photographer of the now defunct Tanzania News Agency (SHIHATA). He also worked for several newspapers – Mwananchi and Express, the Guardian Limited and Habari House.

Ali Uki served as journalist for the Daily News and now is in academics and lectures at Zanzibar University.

Jesse Kwayu is a seasoned editor. He served Nipashe as managing editor and has been promoted as the Executive Editor of Guardian Limited. This is the third time, he is picked as EJAT judge.

Ndimara Tegambwage is veteran journalist who has passion in investigative journalism, is also a trainer and mentor.

Nathan Mpangala is well known cartoonist who has for long time served in print media and now has ventured into television. He has won EJAT trophy on the Best Cartoonist category.

Pili Mtambalike, an old timer at the Media Council has served as judge of the EJAT for five editions. She has a strong journalistic background.

Speaking after swearing-in the judges, Justice Mihayo urged them to be positive and ensure that the event improves in quality and the number of participants.

The judges will start their arduous assignment of scrutinizing the entries on Tuesday, March 15, 2016. The task is expected to take one week.

Meanwhile the process of selecting the winner of the Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Award to honour journalists whose contribution has left an indelible mark on the media industry has also begun.

The process of selecting the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award is different from that used in getting specific EJAT category winners. This one will involve a Panel of Experts who will develop a list of candidates together with detailed resume of possible candidates and subject them to rigorous scrutiny using criteria that have been developed by EJAT Partners. The Experts will select three nominees who will be presented to EJAT Partners who select the eventual awardee.

The Panel of Experts of the Lifetime Achievement Award is chaired by Lillian Kallaghe. Other experts are Hamis Mzee, Fili Karashani, Joseph Kulangwa and Wence Mushi.

The organizing committee of EJAT 2015 comprises of the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) as the lead, the Tanzania Media Foundation (TMF), the Media Institute of Southern Africa-Tanzania Chapter (MISA-Tan), the Tanzania Media Women’s Association (TAMWA), the Tanzania Sports Writers Association (TASWA), the Journalists Environmental Association of Tanzania (JET), Tanzania Editors Forum (TEF), HakiElimu, Sikika, AMREF, ANSAF, BEST-AC, the Association of Journalists Against Aids in Tanzania (AJAAT) and Media Owners Association of Tanzania (MOAT).

Add comment

Security code

Media Headlines

MCT Videos
videoMore Videos...

Photo Gallery
photoMore Photos...

Journalism Awards


Visitors Counter

All days


  • No feeds found!